Local Bands that Blazed the Trail

Do you remember what local bands rocked your world when you were growing up? How about the bands that actually went on to regional or national recognition? They were the trailblazers of the local rock scene…the one’s that provided the live entertainment at our night clubs, civic centers, auditoriums, weddings, and high school dances. The most prominent from my generation were Blues Image, Mercy, and White Witch. Some lesser known, but equally vital, local acts included Pieces, Bacchus, Rock and Roll Circus, Joey Ray and the Ritual, Circles, Strut, and a host of others that elude my feeble memory at the moment. These bands not only entertained us, they inspired us well. On a personal level, they were the ones that influenced my decision to devote my life to songwriting.

And let us not forget the radio stations and discjockeys that had a hand in developing the market. Stations like WLCY AM and WQSR FM, and DJs like Tedd Webb and Rick Randall, also helped to pave the way for the growth of the local music scene. I know that all these trailblazers helped to make Tampa what it is today…a continually growing hotbed for musical talent and up and coming artists who are producing work that is making its mark throughout the world. It was in honor of the early pioneers of our local music scene that I wrote the song “The Trail of Local Rock and Roll”. And if I left out anyone in the video I’m linking you to now (and I know I did), please forgive me. It was not intentional, and I would certainly appreciate any comments reminding of other great artist from the Bay Area that I may have forgotten about. My objective was to pay tribute to everyone, in general, that helped make Tampa’s music scene what it is today.

The Trail of Local Rock and Roll

20130317-113139.jpg

20130317-113153.jpg

20130317-113202.jpg

20130317-113908.jpg

2 thoughts on “Local Bands that Blazed the Trail

  1. Glad to see how proficient you are at this web stuff. It was made for you & what you do.

    Nancy & I saw Blues Image around 1970 at the Fillmore East in New York City. They were the opening act for The Youngbloods. We were in the first row of seats and could touch the stage, though we stayed seated. Blues Image played all their unknown songs first, but the sold-out crowd was eager for “Ride Captain Ride.” I remember one of the band members chastising the crowd for calling out for the hit song. I did not know they were from Tampa! The Youngbloods were good too.

    Thanks Mike

    Peace

    Martin Friedman

Leave a Reply

